yeti in popular culture

I must confess, this looks like I have a lot of time on my hands. I really don’t but I had to speak my mind about this.

As can be seen from this post, most of what has been reported about the yeti has been through western media, with it’s own lens. That includes pictures/drawings/paintings of yeti. I would also assume that some of that imagery is probably influenced a lot by “bigfoot” images.

What strikes me as odd is that most of these images cannot be traced back to anyone from Nepal or Tibet, which is where the Yeti is supposed to be making his home. Maybe it’s because people there have been busy with sustaining their livelihood rather than painting images of Yeti for mass consumption. Maybe, there wasn’t enough of an artist pool, or maybe the artists there don’t think the Yeti is worthy of having art created around it.. whatever the reasons, I think it’s time to change that. I personally am not an artist, I can barely draw a straight line.

Maybe someone with an interest in mythical creatures imagery would actually want to talk to folks in nepal / Tibet about this and set the record straight, at least in terms of how people think the Yeti looks like.

Or then again, maybe I do have a lot of time on my hands.
related links:
http://ilovetheyeti.blogspot.com/2008/03/yeti-in-popular-culture.html
http://www.cryptomundo.com/cryptozoo-news/yeti-evolve/
http://www.boingboing.net/2008/03/05/evolution-of-yeti-im.html

update march 17, 2008:
Gama-go sells yeti stuff

Leave a Reply

