the blank white walls

Someone who’s been in my room many times commented that my walls were still blank. I haven’t found the right stuff I retorted back.

Then I started thinking back on when I had my walls covered with posters or paintings or any smidgen of decoration. I went back, and back and back till I got to the time I was in high-school!
I had posters of 80s pop stars in my bedroom. I haven’t had anything else since then. I have changed rooms a gazillion times. Granted I’ve had stuff on my home-office walls.. but nothing in my bedroom. I always thought I’d fill up the walls with something I like when I find them.

Jesus, it’s been fifteen fucking years. I should’ve honed my skills on selecting the stuff I like, or for that matter, knowing what I like. It’s all confusing, now that I’m thinking about it. Ok, I like certain artists – Warhol, Kandinsky, Lichtenstein, Mondrian. I like certain types of scenery – Rio de Janeiro, Bora Bora, the South China Sea islands, Antartica ice shelf (?). I like certain types of portraits – gothic, androids etc. I like certain types of sculpture – organic shapes, mathematical sculpture. And so it goes.

What do I choose? Should I just pick a couple and stick with them. Should I pick some, keep them a while and rotate? These are the conundrums I face right now. And mind you, the problem may seem small, until you realize that it’s not just my bedroom walls that are white and blank. It’s my life as I see it right now. They’re blank and ready to be filled in with bits and pieces of joy and wonder. And I have lots of things to choose from. I just have to figure out how to go about choosing them.

I’m guessing I’m not the only one with thoughts like this. Mind you, they’re not life-threatening, but, they are essential. The blank white walls need to come down. Maybe I’ll start with my room.
šŸ™‚

Update: Thanks, but not soliciting sympathy. This is just a snapshot of the reflective types of thought that go through my mind.

Leave a Reply

