six degrees of separation

The movie Six degrees of separation explores among aother things, the concept of, surprise, six degrees of separation. Incidentally, it is also Will Smith’s foray into movies.

The concept is surprisingly simple to explain. Basically, any one living person on earth can be linked to any other random person by successively linking six different people in between them. Sort of like the seven degrees to Kevin Bacon game. It doesn’t hit home until you think of the powerful side-effects that you can derive from it. A tribe elder in the amazon can be linked to an Inuit fisherman in Alaska for example. Or you can link yourself to Dalai Lama or the Pope. It’s mindboggling, eh! In reality, though, the trick is finding the right six people, I guess.

This reminds me of something that one of my friends told me out of hand. If you’ve slept with more than six people in your life, then you’ve slept with everyone else on earth. You’re a slut. Don’t get offended, it applies to me too. Ugly, but something to think about. And thank my friend for the anecdote. She’ll find it amusing 🙂

One thought on “six degrees of separation

  1. This theory is very interesting and I want to invite you to be one of the first members to a new site.
    It is an invitation only website and I think you will really like it. http://www.GoogolMeHere.com . Kind of like a “MySpace” for grownups. It is based on the 6 degrees of Separation theory. I want to see how far my 6 degrees of separation can reach. It is really pretty interesting. And there is nothing else like it on the internet.
    I have been looking for a friend for 21 years and still can not find her. I was on MySpace but it was impossible to find my own daughter there. Anyway, check it out and I hope to see you there. You never know who you will end up reconnecting with. Just put in this email address (GoogolBug@aol.com) in the Invitation section on the homepage and you can get in. Once you register, you can invite as many people as you want to. Make sure you read the “About Us” section to understand the concept. By the way, the Basic site is FREE!

Leave a Reply

