I am but living a lie and I think the world is too

Happy faces, smiling faces
Loud joyful choirs singing gods praises
God, man, this earth and all its ties
Warm welcomes and teary good-byes
All seem so forged and there is nothing I can do
I am but living a lie and I think the world is too!

This world of inorganic happiness that I am living
This world of living lavishly and yet still wanting
This world of mistaken identity that everyone shares
This world of great politicians who proclaim to care
This world of utopia that I always thought it would be
This world of heavenly bliss is what I thought I would see
But my mind has deceived me and there is nothing I can do
I am but living a lie and I think the world is too!

My dreams, my aspirations, my hopes to land on the moon
Are all crumbling inside of me and all much too soon
The instability in our hearts and insecurity in our land
The unrest in our world and blood all over the sand
The annihilation of holy places
The engendering of devils races
This world of sex, drugs, violence and crimes
Has left me to mull gravely about these times –
This world so full of darkness and there is nothing I can do
I am but living a lie and I think this world is too!

I know I am free to follow my dreams and make it a reality
Something’s holding me back, something’s not right, something’s faulty
Even though I am free, I feel so trapped
I feel so lost even though my life had been so easily mapped
My heart says something else, my brain the other
It’s getting to a point where I am beginning to think why bother
I am a prisoner in my own world, and there is nothing I can do
I am but living a lie and I think the world is too!

-by Nima Puri (06/24/2001)

Leave a Reply

